Official website of the first ever deathmetal band from the Netherlands.

Current line-up:
Marco de Bruin: Bass
Paul Baayens (Hail of Bullets, Asphyx): Guitars
Stephan Gebédi (Hail of Bullets): Guitars/Vocals
Yuri Rinkel: drums

Band contact:


contact webmaster:



Thanatos news

THANATOS – pre-order for “Global Purification” has started, new song launched


The pre-order of THANATOS’ new studio album “Global Purification” has started today! Head over to CM Distro and get the physical format of your choice:


“Global Purification” will be released in the following formats:


·         Limited CD Digipak (contains one bonus track and the entire album as   MP3 vinyl master)

·         CD Jewelcase

·         LP (black vinyl, limited silver vinyl – 200 copies)

·         Digital Album


2014 marks the 30th anniversary of THANATOS and what would be better than celebrating this event with the release of the strongest album in the band’s career? “Global Purification” contains 10 tracks of exterminating death/thrash metal with razor-sharp riffs, hateful vocals, straight forward lyrics and a clear yet brutal production by Dan Swanö. Century Media have just launched another new track. It’s the punishing title track of the new album and it can be listened to here:


“Global Purification” will be released on November 17th. Be prepared for a brilliant combination of aggressive thrash and old school death that takes you back to the days when metal was about breaking rules and boundaries instead of creating them. Century Media have just launched another new track. It’s the punishing title track of the album and it can be listened to here:


If you missed to check out the new song “Feeding The War Machine” which has been launched a while ago, we advise you to listen to it now:


“Global Purification” tracklisting:


1.    Global Purification

2.    The Murder Of Innocence

3.    Infestation Of The Soul

4.    Queen Of Gore

5.    Nothing Left

6.    World Jihad

7.    The Demonized Minority

8.    Feeding The War Machine

9.    Blood Will Be Spilled

10.  Bastion Of Blasphemy



Nov 15, 2014    Scream Bloody Scum Fest, Scum, Katwijk (NL) (inofficial CD-       release-party)

Dec 13, 2014    Eindhoven Metal Meeting, Effenaar, Eindhoven (NL)

Jan 10, 2015:    Turock, Essen (Germany)

THANATOS line-up:

Stephan Gebédi – vocals, guitars

Paul Baayens – guitars

Marco de Bruin – bass

Yuri Rinkel – drums

THANATOS online:


Century Media Records online:


Century Media webshop:



THANATOS - new album to be out in November

Dutch death/thrash metal veterans THANATOS will release their brand new studio album “Global Purification” on November 17th. With Stephan Gebédi’s (guitar, vocals) and Paul Baayens’ (guitars) duties with their other bands Hail Of Bullets and Asphyx it has become a bit quiet around Netherland’s longest running extreme metal band. But 2014 marks THANATOS’ 30th anniversary and their return to full power. And what would be better than to celebrate this event with the release of THANATOS’ fiercest, most merciless and most mature album to date? “Global Purification” contains 10 songs of exterminating death/thrash that bring back memories of the days when metal was about breaking rules and boundaries instead of creating them.

THANATOS have launched the new song “Feeding The War Machine” on Soundcloud. Click the link below and learn your lesson in deadly thrashing thanatology:

“Global Purification” will be released on CD, limited CD Digipak, LP and as Digital Download.



Obituary + Thanatos + Bodyfarm + Entrails + Villainy @ Baroeg

THANATOS sign worldwide deal with Century Media Records

Century Media Records is proud to announce the signing of the Dutch death metal dominators of THANATOS.

THANATOS is not only the Greek God of Death, but one of the oldest (if not the oldest) and longest running extreme metal bands from the Netherlands. Founded in 1984 THANATOS have released numerous highly acclaimed albums during their career. Be it the infamous debut album “Emerging From The Netherworlds”, the equally great second output “Realm Of Ecstasy” (both re-released on Century Media Records on CD and LP in 2012) or the band’s last studio work “Justified Genocide”, THANATOS have always managed to deliver high-class death metal laced with a lethal dose of thrash.

Already being in close connection with THANATOS’ long time guitarist Paul Baayens due to his involvement in ASPHYX, Century Media got in touch with THANATOS in early 2012. Philipp Schulte, A&R and product manager at Century Media, comments:

“I remember talking with Stephan of THANATOS about the band’s back catalogue. Back then we simply wanted to work with the band on their previous albums, not really knowing they intended to record a new studio album. When Stephan and Paul visited the CM headquarters in Dortmund in autumn last year, they told us about their plans to record a new album which they’d like to release in 2014, the year of THANATOS’ 30th anniversary. Of course we wanted them to release it on Century Media. THANATOS is without a doubt of the most legendary bands from the heydays of the death metal scene and we strongly believe their sixth studio album will bolt you down with pure withering death/thrash metal violence.”

Asked about the signing of the deal, THANATOS’ vocalist and guitarist Stephan Gebédi answers:

,,Even after being in ‘the business’ for so many years, we’re really excited to become part of the Century Media family, which is without any doubt one of the best and most important labels for metal today. We can’t wait to start working on new material and it’s our intention to record an absolute death/thrash metal monster to coincide with our 30th anniversary in 2014! We come from an era when there was no strict boundaries between thrash and death metal which resulted in masterpieces like DARK ANGEL’s “Darkness Descends” and POSSESSED’s “Seven Churches” and it’s our mission to transport the legacy of those albums to 2014 and beyond…”

So await with fear the coming of the God of Death as 2014 marks the return of THANATOS!

THANATOS line-up:
Stephan Gebédi – vocals, guitars
Paul Baayens – guitars
Marco de Bruin – bass
Yuri Rinkel – drums

News  archive