Biography illustrious name that has been haunting the Underground Metal scene since 1984... After several demo tapes and line-up changes, Thanatos released two classic Thrash/Death Metal albums in the early 1990's: 'Emerging From The Netherworlds' and 'Realm Of Ecstasy'. The band shared the stage with the likes of Kreator, Sepultura, Death, Napalm Death, Bolt Thrower, Autopsy and Death Angel to name but a few.

In 1992 Thanatos split up due to a variety of reasons but was revived in 1999 by founding member Stephan Gebédi, featuring a new line-up that included members from Sinister, Houwitser and Cremation. The third Thanatos album, 'Angelic Encounters', was released in 2000 followed by more shows with bands like Morbid Angel, Vader, Dying Fetus, Exhumed, Cryptopsy, Krisiun, Destruction and Necrophagia. Despite great reviews the band was not totally satisfied with this album. Two more personnel changes followed.

In 2002 the band recorded four new songs and two covers in a small 8-track studio to attract some interest from record companies. Baphomet Records/Red Stream released these recordings as the 'Beyond Terror' Mini CD.
Thanatos signed a recording deal with Greek label Black Lotus Records in 2003, resulting in the release of 'Undead.Unholy.Divine.' the next year. Whilst recording their fifth full-length album ‘Justified Genocide’, the band was informed of Black Lotus Records’ bankruptcy and the album was put on hold.

In 2007 Band members Paul and Stephan joined forces in Hail of Bullets. Paul also joined the reformed Asphyx and Yuri joined Melechesh.

In 2009, a quarter of a century after the band's first incarnation, ‘Justified Genocide' was finally released by Deity Down Records. The album features the band's strongest songs so far. Their typical mix of old school thrash and death metal still stands tall and these are the band's most raw and in your face sounding recordings ever. 'Justified Genocide' was recorded at Excess Studio in Rotterdam, Netherlands and mixed and mastered by Dan Swanö (Edge Of Sanity, Bloodbath, Moontower) at Unisound Studio in Sweden.

In 2012 Thanatos signed a deal with the mighty Century Media Records to re-issue their complete back catalogue.
‘Emerging from the Netherworlds’ and ‘Realm Of Ecstasy’ were re-released in September 2012 as both Cd and multi-coloured vinyl. The other three albums are set for re-release in 2013
  Line up:

Stephan Gebédi (Hail of Bullets) -vocals/guitar
Paul Baayens (Asphyx/Hail of Bullets) -guitar
Marco de Bruin -bass
Yuri Rinkel (Melechesh) -drums


• Emerging From The Netherworlds (Shark/Cargo 1990, Hammerheart 1999, Area Death 2007, Century Media 2012).

• Realm Of Ecstasy (Shark/Cargo 1992, Hammerheart 2000, Area Death 2007, Century Media 2012).

• Angelic Encounters (Hammerheart 2000, Area Death 2007, Century Media 2013).

• Beyond Terror (MCD) (Baphomet/Red Stream 2002, Century Media 2013).

• Undead.Unholy.Divine. (Black Lotus Records 2004, Century Media 2013).

• The Burning of Sodom/And Jesus Wept (7 Inch EP) (Konqueror Records 2006,).

• Boxed Set (first 3 albums + bonus discs) (Area Death Productions 2007).

• Justified Genocide (Deity Down 2009, Mechanix (vinyl only) 2010, Century Media 2013).

* Imperial Anthems Asphyx vs. Thanatos (7 inch split EP) (Cyclone Empire 2011)

Download biography as WORD-document




Official website of the first ever deathmetal band from the Netherlands.

Current line-up:
Marco de Bruin: Bass
Paul Baayens (Hail of Bullets, Asphyx): Guitars
Stephan Gebédi (Hail of Bullets): Guitars/Vocals
Yuri Rinkel: drums

Band contact:


contact webmaster: